Once you have built the perfect schedule you are going to want to share it with your employees. We have tried to make sharing the schedule as simple as possible in ZoomShift. This guide will walk you through how to do this.
We have a tutorial video that covers some of the information in this article. If you like watching instead of reading you should check it out!
Unpublished vs. Published Shifts
When you add shifts to the schedule they are not visible to employees until you publish them. You can always tell what shifts are published and unpublished by the background of the shift. Unpublished shifts have a striped background that looks like the image below. Once your shifts are published the striped background will get removed.
Also, the total number of unpublished shifts is always displayed at the top of the schedule. This count looks like this in the upper left of the schedule:
Publish - All Shifts
Once you are ready to share the schedule the easiest way is to publish all of the shifts at the same time. You can do this by clicking the Publish & Notify button in the upper right of the schedule. You will then see a pop-up form like this:
You can choose to publish and notify your employees of their shifts or just publish and not send notifications. If you do choose to notify your employees you can enter a message that will be sent along with the notifications. Your employees will be notified via email, text, or push notification depending on their alert settings. Here are is an example of what an email notification will look like:
Publish - Only Some Shifts
In some cases you may only want to publish some shifts. For example, you may want to publish all the shifts for one location, or for a few positions, or maybe just for one employee. You can do this easily by using the filters on the schedule and then following the same flow for publishing all shifts. Only the shifts that are filtered will be published. You can learn more about using filters on the schedule in this help guide.
Publish - One Shift
It’s also possible to publish shifts one at a time. This is not ideal for publishing many shifts, but if you are making changes to a schedule after it has been published it may make sense to publish shifts individually. When you are editing a shift that is not published you will notice an option to Save & Publish the shift in the edit pop-up. If you choose this option you will see a pop-up like the one below. This allows you to publish a single shift and send a notification as well.
Republishing & Notifying Shifts
What do you do if you’ve already published shifts and then you make changes to them? You want to notify your employees of these changes, but you can’t use the Publish & Notify button at the top because the shifts are already published. You can send out new notifications individually. When you click on a shift that is already published you will see a Notify button at the bottom of the edit pop-up. If you click this you will see a form like the one below. This will allow you to send another notification for this shift.